First experiences in Costa Rica - Reisverslag uit San José, Costa Rica van Wessel Groot - WaarBenJij.nu First experiences in Costa Rica - Reisverslag uit San José, Costa Rica van Wessel Groot - WaarBenJij.nu

First experiences in Costa Rica

Door: Wessel Groot

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Wessel

02 September 2016 | Costa Rica, San José

Hey everybody,

On August 14th, I left friends, family and the Netherlands for a new adventure and challenge in Costa Rica. I am here to follow a second Master’s in International Peace Studies at the University for Peace (UPEACE). Not even a week before my departure I finally finished and submitted my first Master’s thesis after overcoming various hardships and I have very recently been notified that I have graduated from this first Master’s which officially makes me a Master of Science.

Before going deeper into my amazing experiences here, I would first like to give some background information. The Univeresity for Peace is the only UN-mandated university. The goal of this univeristy is to educate students to become ‘change agents’. In other words, to provide students with the academic- practical background and networks to make them pioneers in various fields. Think for instance of environmental sustainability, conflict resolution, human rights, peace education and international law. Whether you believe in the efficacy of the United Nations and the aforementioned concepts or not, the students here are all highly motivated, have diverse backgrounds and propose innovate ideas to bring change. I feel privileged to be one of the around 100 students and only one of the five European students. I am here to get a better understanding of the complexity of wicked problems plaguing our planet and to look for new solutions. In aiming to bring small scale progress, I have already started to work on a couple of projects here. However since these projects are just initiated (not really strange since I am only here for two weeks) I will discuss these in greater detail later on.

Next up my experiences. After a 17 hour trip I arrived, via Panama City, in San Jose. I was warmly welcomed by my landlady and a house mate that arrived before me. The relationship with my house mates has become close right from the start as they are warm and great people to hang out with. My studies would commence around four days after my arrival which gave me plenty of time to explore the surroundings, my campus and most of all to acclimatize. The climate is different, hot and very humid. I live in Ciudad Colón, a little town around 20 kilometres outside of the capital right in the middle of gorgeous nature where you sometimes can pick your fruits in the streets. The town has an active community, it for instance has a weekly organic market with local products, nice bars, good facilities, surrounded by mountains and has a beach volleyball- and beach football fields right in the center. A place where we as UPEACE students like to come and play beach volleyball (never knew I actually like to play that). Very quickly, even before the curriculum started, I met other students and we started to hang out. It is fantastic to see what drives these students, what their backgrounds are and what they have already achieved. Professors at this university rightly pointed out that 50% of what we are going to learn this year will come from other students. The campus is breathtaking. The university is surrounded by a huge park with unique flora and fauna. A location that itself is already inspiring.

The introduction and the first one-and a half week of study have been great. It is good to see that many of the students are very critical, which also goes for most of the professors. I am very happy that it is not merely UN-propaganda accompanied by utopian and unrealistic worldviews. Rather it is a place where a critical analysis is offered that reflects on some of the major structural problems we face in this world but also offers viable and concrete solutions. The program is pretty intense and requires active participation and attendance from the beginning.

This is not to say I completely lack leisure time and time for relaxation. My first great weekend at the beach is already behind me and the second weekend at the Pacifico is already coming up. Furthermore, I have started a football team at the university, and I played my first game with a local team already. Also I found a great guy with whom I enjoy running around town and up in the mountains and with other students we have been exploring local bars. Also I will visit the Football World Cup qualification game between Costa Rica and Panama next week for which I am pretty excited.

Overall, it promises to be a challenging-, intensive- but awesome year, full of new experiences and inspiring friendships. I will keep you posted!


Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Wessel

Wessel in Canada

Actief sinds 03 Sept. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 315
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12001

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Augustus 2016 - 31 Augustus 2017

Studie University for Peace

03 September 2013 - 31 December 2013

Mijn eerste reis

24 Augustus 2013 - 28 December 2013

Study exchange to the University of Ottawa

24 Augustus 2013 - 28 December 2013

Study exchange to the University of Ottawa

Landen bezocht: