Useful insights, awesome trips and great prospects - Reisverslag uit San José, Costa Rica van Wessel Groot - WaarBenJij.nu Useful insights, awesome trips and great prospects - Reisverslag uit San José, Costa Rica van Wessel Groot - WaarBenJij.nu

Useful insights, awesome trips and great prospects

Door: Wessel Groot

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Wessel

14 November 2016 | Costa Rica, San José

Hello everyone,

It’s been a while since you heard from me. The good thing about that is that I have lots to tell you now. I have experienced many great moments and other events through which I learned a lot. First, I will go through some of the things I do here at the university before I tell you more about my great personal experiences.

After the initial introductory course at the university, we immediately deepened our knowledge with a course International Peace Studies. An inspiring professor from the US discussed different world perspectives and the shortcomings of the current international system (including the UN). All of us were asked to express our vision through a problem analysis. My essay addressed the fact that there is a big "us-versus-them" dichotomy that constantly, along a neoliberal world model, legitimizes and reproduces violence against certain groups. We see this contrast at a global level but also within countries. I pointed out that this (in the West) leads to huge groups of (understandably) disappointed people who feel excluded and resist. For me this dissatisfaction can be expressed in two ways: through inclusive global solidarity movements or extreme right-wing anti-globalization movements. The latter is what is currently happening at large, and my goal is to redirect all this negative energy by listening to these people, by giving them a voice and by taking them seriously instead of putting them away as stupid, racist or misogynist. Doing the latter only leads to more resistance and strengthens radicalism. I think I don’t need to mention any examples. was rewarded with an A+ by my professor.

Well, enough for politics. Because I enjoyed great experiences I want to share. Firstly, I am here with great and creative friends. Often we eat together, organize parties or trips. Twice now I organized great wine tastings with a friend. We had wines from three continents delicious paired. It was a great success! Then, the first trip to La Fortuna and the Arenal Volcano. A powerful semi-active volcano situated in a breathtaking area. Although the volcano has not erupted for a while, it does smoke constantly and provides enough energy to create mineral-rich hot springs - perfect for us to chill. The second trip to Nicaragua was really fantastic. After a long journey and too much hassle at the border, we finally arrived in Ometepe. An indescribably beautiful island consisting of two volcanoes that are connected as through an 8-shape. The island is located in Lake Nicaragua. After we arrived we immediately rented mountain bikes to explore the island. On the island, we found a beautiful lagoon (fresh water source) in the middle of the jungle, so it was time for a swim. After Ometepe we went to Granada, an old colonial town with a beautiful architecture, houses painted in a wide variety of colors, chaotic traditional markets and beautiful terraces. The best of Nicaragua is however its people and the amazing atmosphere, both incredibly relaxed (the local beer wasn’t too bad either).

On top of that I have great prospects as I became formally part of a start-up company in Sweden as a board member and political liaison officer. In a few weeks we are going to launch, so exciting times ahead of me. I also started taking an additional course about the relationship between sports and peace. Moreover, I am setting up a mentorship program to match young high school students with university students at the University for Peace. This in order to help the high school students to set up projects that will be benefit to their local community using the expertise of the university students. I work together on this with a NGO from a Peruvian friend of mine.

Finally, and the best thing is that my brother Tijmen, is getting here in about a week. We have planned to visit Panama, beautiful locations in Costa Rica and… Cuba! After, we will fly home together to celebrate Christmas and New Years’ and for me to enjoy three weeks being home. I'm raring to see everyone again.

For now, it’s time to get back to work however, lots to do.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Wessel

Wessel in Canada

Actief sinds 03 Sept. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 411
Totaal aantal bezoekers 11988

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Augustus 2016 - 31 Augustus 2017

Studie University for Peace

03 September 2013 - 31 December 2013

Mijn eerste reis

24 Augustus 2013 - 28 December 2013

Study exchange to the University of Ottawa

24 Augustus 2013 - 28 December 2013

Study exchange to the University of Ottawa

Landen bezocht: